ISO/DIS2 45001 expected 19 May

The expected release of ISO 45001 has been pushed back after the first draft international standard (DIS) of the standard failed to gain the votes required for approval and the standard moved to a second draft international standard (DIS2), which is expected on May 19.
If a final draft international standard (FDIS) is not required, the publication of ISO 45001 is expected to take place in June 2017. However, if an FDIS is required, ISO 45001 is likely to be published early 2018.

Implementation ISO 45001

SCCM recommends that organizations intending to implement an OH&S management system, or to make the transition from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001, should start implementation now based on the first or second ISO/DIS 45001 (the first was published in February 2016 and the second will be available on 19 May 2017) and not to wait for the publication of the definitive version of ISO 45001. In the meantime, organizations may still be certified on the basis of OHSAS 18001. SCCM has published an information booklet on the implentation of ISO 45001.

About ISO 45001

ISO 45001 is the successor of OHSAS 18001, the international standard for occupational health and safety management systems. The new standard is intended for use by any organization, regardless of size or industry.
ISO 45001 is being developed to align with other management system approaches such as ISO 14001 and ISO 9001, and will take into account existing occupational health and safety standards such as OHSAS 18001, the ILP-OSH Guidelines, and other national and international standards.

More information

You can find out more about the ISO 45001 standard here.

Search the database of certified organisations (Dutch):

ISO 14001 (2666) » 7613 sites ISO 45001 (346) » 1489 sites ISO 50001 (37) » 390 sites EMAS (4) »
the database directly