Energy ISO 50001

ISO 50001 is the international standard with requirements for an energy management system. An organization uses an energy management system to develop an appropriate energy policy and to ensure its implementation.

The  ISO 50001 certification scheme contains the ‘ground rules’ for certifying energy management systems. All of the certification bodies (CBs) associated with SCCM use this scheme when performing audits. The certification system contains:

  • An interpretation of the ISO 50001 standard.
  • Guidelines for organizing the CB.
  • Agreements about the procedures used by the CB.

In part 1, the interpretation of the standard, various elements of the ISO 50001 standard are explained in detail:

  • These explanations are essential for developing a high-quality energy management system.
  • These explanations involve elements of the standard which may be confusing to interpret.
  • The interpretations are binding for the CB in performing its audits.

The certification scheme is updated regularly by the Central Committee of Experts, based on current developments. The changes are discussed with the certification bodies to ensure they are practicable. A summary of changes in the certification scheme and transitional period for implementation is available on the Dutch website.

The Dutch version of the certification scheme is leading.



Search the database of certified organisations (Dutch):

ISO 14001 (2959) » 8799 sites ISO 45001 (449) » 1821 sites ISO 50001 (46) » 863 sites EMAS (4) »
the database directly