ISO 45001 published!

The International Standard for occupational health and safety (OH&S), ISO 45001, has been published on 12 March. This new OH&S standard is based on the common elements found in all of ISO’s management systems standards and uses the Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) model, which provides a framework for organizations to plan what they need to put in place in order to minimize the risk of harm. The measures should address concerns that can lead to long-term health issues and absence from work, as well as those that give rise to accidents. 

Replacement for OHSAS 18001

ISO 45001 will replace OHSAS 18001, the world’s former reference for workplace health and safety. Organizations already certified to OHSAS 18001 will have three years to comply with the new ISO 45001 standard, although certification of conformity to ISO 45001 is not a requirement of the standard. The International Accreditation Forum (IAF) has developed the migration requirements to help certified organizations, certification bodies, accreditation bodies and other interested parties prepare. 

ISO 45001:2018 can be purchased from NEN in The Netherlands or from your national ISO member.

Certification scheme

SCCM developed a certification scheme for occupational health and safety (OH&S) management systems according to ISO 45001:2018. The certification scheme consists of the following three elements:

  • The interpretation of the ISO 45001 standard
  • The organization of the certification body
  • The procedures used by the certification body

The certifications scheme can be downloaded here.

Search the database of certified organisations (Dutch):

ISO 14001 (2961) » 8799 sites ISO 45001 (440) » 1778 sites ISO 50001 (44) » 857 sites EMAS (4) »
the database directly