ISO 45001 expected in March 2018

ISO 45001, the long-awaited new international standard for occupational safety and health, is set to be published in March 2018, it has been announced by ISO. National standards bodies voted on the final draft international standard (FDIS) of ISO 45001 in a ballot that ended on 25 January. It was approved by 93% of them.

High Level Structure

The standard follows the generic management system structure used for ISO 14001 and ISO 9001, the High Level Standard (HLS). It was based initially on OHSAS 18001, but also takes account of other influential documents, such as the International Labour Organization's ILO-OSH Guidelines and various national occupational safety and health management system standards.

First global standard

ISO 45001 is the first global standard of its kind and will give organisations a universally accepted framework for improving employee health and safety, reducing workplace risks and creating healthier, safer working conditions.

More information

SCCM has developed an information booklet about how to migrate your current OHSAS 18001 certificate to the ISO 45001 standard or how to implement the ISO 45001 standard if an OH&S management system is new to your organization. You will find more information on ISO 45001 and our information booklet here


Search the database of certified organisations (Dutch):

ISO 14001 (2961) » 8799 sites ISO 45001 (440) » 1778 sites ISO 50001 (44) » 857 sites EMAS (4) »
the database directly